Robert F. Rider, PLC
One Of Roanoke’s Most Experienced Defense Attorneys.
Get Legal Help Now! 540-685-0075

Multiple DUI Attorney Serving Roanoke, Virginia

Roanoke Criminal Defense Law Firm Helps Protect the Rights of Those Charged With Multiple DUIs

Driving under the influence, known as DUI in Virginia is a very serious crime and the penalties can be quite severe, especially if you have numerous DUI convictions on your record. If you have been arrested for multiple DUIs, you should contact a Virginia DUI attorney like Robert F. Rider to help you understand your rights and legal defenses available to you under Virginia law. Losing your license for multiple years will no doubt be detrimental to your ability to work or travel, and will likely cause extreme hardship on you and your family. If you are facing multiple DUI charges in Virginia, contact Robert F. Rider, an experienced Roanoke criminal defense lawyer, online or call 540-685-0075. Our firm has been defending those charged with multiple DUIs for more than three decades, and we will give you a realistic idea of the outcome you can expect.

A subsequent DUI conviction carries with it mandatory jail time as a matter of law. Penalties for first two (2) convictions are misdemeanors and are as follows:

  • First DUI – one year suspended license, no minimum jail time (but up to 12 months in jail), required six-month interlock vehicle system at offender’s expense, and a minimum $250 fine (with a maximum fine of $2500).
  • Second DUI – three year suspended license if prior DUI was within 10 years, 20 days mandatory minimum (if within 5 years of 1st conviction) or 10 days mandatory minimum jail sentence if the offense is within 5 to 10 years, required six (6) months up to total period of license suspension interlock vehicle system at offender’s expense, and a minimum fine of $500.
  • Third DUI – now it gets really serious! A conviction of a third (3rd) offense of DUI within 10 years is a Class 6 Felony (1-5 years in prison) with mandatory minimum sentence of 90 days jail time or six(6) months if within 5 years of the previous convictions and a mandatory minimum $1000 fine.
  • Fourth DUI – classified as a class 6 felony, mandatory one year minimum imprisonment, mandatory $1000 fine, an indefinite period of license suspension.

Robert Rider of Roanoke, Virginia is a member of the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys. The Association confirmed that he has the skills, knowledge, training, tools, resources, and strategies that are needed to successfully resolve and win DUI cases. Read more about this here.