Robert F. Rider, PLC
One Of Roanoke’s Most Experienced Defense Attorneys.
Get Legal Help Now! 540-685-0075

How a DUI Charge Can Disrupt Your Life

Roanoke Criminal Defense Law Firm Focuses on DUI Defense

If you’ve been charged with your first DUI offense in Virginia, you undoubtedly need to familiar yourself not only with the charge itself but also with the potential penalties that you may be facing.

DUI in Virginia

In Virginia, you can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) if you drive a vehicle under the following circumstances:

  • While being under the influence of alcohol
  • While having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more
  • While being under the influence of any drug that impairs your ability to drive or operate a motor vehicle safely
  • While being under the combined influence of alcohol or drugs to a degree that your ability to drive or operate a motor vehicle is impaired

Penalties for First Time DUI in Virginia

A first DUI offense charge and/or breath test refusal charge in Virginia will result in an automatic administrative suspension of your driver’s license for seven days if your BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. Conviction for a first time DUI offense in Virginia is punishable as a class I Misdemeanor which carries a fine up to $2500 and/or a jail sentence up to 12 months, either or both, or any combination thereof. There is a mandatory minimum $250 fine and driver’s license revocation of one year. You don’t have the option to request a blood test instead of a breath test for an alcohol related offense. And if you are convicted of a breath test refusal, the court will suspend your driving privileges for one year, with no possibility for restricted privileges. If you are also convicted of DUI, the DUI license revocation period will run consecutively with the breath test refusal revocation.

Put Our Experience to Work for You

If you are facing a first time DUI charge in Virginia and don’t know where to turn, contact Robert F. Rider online or call 540-685-0075. Our firm has been defending DUI charges for more than 30 years, and your best interests will be our main priority.

Robert Rider of Roanoke, Virginia is a member of the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys. The Association confirmed that he has the skills, knowledge, training, tools, resources, and strategies that are needed to successfully resolve and win DUI cases. Read more about this here.