Robert F. Rider, PLC
One Of Roanoke’s Most Experienced Defense Attorneys.
Get Legal Help Now! 540-685-0075

Penalties for Virginia’s repeat DWI offenders

On Behalf of | May 1, 2019 | Dui Defense

As a Virginia resident who already has a conviction for driving while intoxicated on your record, you likely have firsthand knowledge of just how much of an emotional and financial toll such a conviction can have on a person. You may, too, recognize that a subsequent DWI charge has the capacity to land you in even more serious trouble. Attorney Robert F. Rider, PLC, understands that penalties increase in severity with each additional DWI conviction, and he has helped many people facing repeat-DWI charges work to minimize the damage the charges cause them.

According to the Virginia Law Library, if you receive a second conviction for a DWI charge, you can anticipate facing some pretty harsh penalties for your actions. Ultimately, though, the repercussions you will face will vary based on how long ago you received your last DWI conviction. If, for example, you receive a second DWI conviction within five to 10 years after your first offense, you can plan on paying at least a $500 fine and spending at least 10 days behind bars.

If your second conviction for DWI occurs within less than five years of your first offense, you can count on paying at least $500 in fines and logging at least 20 days behind bars. You may, however, have to spend an even longer period in jail, depending on the results of your breath test. In addition to fees and jail time, Virginia’s second-time DWI offenders must finance and attend substance abuse treatment, finance and install an ignition interlock device on their cars and lose their driving privileges for at least three years.

Virginia’s third-time DWI offenders, meanwhile, can count on paying at least $1,000 in fines and spending at least 90 days behind bars if their third conviction comes within 10 years of a prior one. If a third conviction comes within five years of a prior one, offenders can count on paying at least $1,000 in fees while spending at least six months in jail. A third Virginia DWI is also a Class 6 felony, and you will have to forfeit your license indefinitely after a third conviction. You can find more on this topic on our webpage.