Robert F. Rider, PLC
One Of Roanoke’s Most Experienced Defense Attorneys.
Get Legal Help Now! 540-685-0075

How much can a Virginia DWI/DUI raise your auto insurance rates?

On Behalf of | Mar 5, 2019 | Dui Defense

When a Virginia law enforcement officer charges you with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence and a judge or jury later convicts you of the offense, your life will undoubtedly change in a number of challenging ways. In addition to losing your license for a set amount of time, which can make it much harder for you to find or hold on to a job, a DWI or DUI can set you back financially in a number of significant ways.

In addition to having to pay substantial fines relating to your DUI or DWI conviction, states that you will almost certainly see a sharp increase in your automotive insurance costs after a drunk driving conviction, regardless of where you live. While Americans with drunk driving convictions may see their annual insurance rates climb anywhere from 28 to 371 percent, Virginia’s motorists who have drunk driving convictions can expect to see their rates rise about 62 percent.

So, what might that difference look like? These days, Virginia drivers who do not have convictions for drinking and driving on their records pay an average of $993 per year for car insurance coverage. Virginia drivers who have DWIs or DUIs, though, pay about $1,619 every year for insurance, which makes for a difference of $626 per year.

Unfortunately, you may also find that your current insurer may decide to exclude you from coverage at all once you have a conviction for a DWI or DUI on your record. Under such circumstances, it may serve you well to secure several offers from different insurance companies so you can find your most manageable option.

This copy about insurance rate hikes after a drunk driving conviction is meant for educational purposes, only, and does not constitute legal advice.