Many people in Virginia who are arrested and charged with impaired driving offenses might feel like they have no ability to defend themselves against the charges. They may even simply plead guilty to the charge and solemnly accept whatever penalties are imposed. However, it is important to remember that the right to pursue a defense, including all the way through to a trial, always exists. This is true for people accused of any type of criminal offense, including drunk driving.
One example of this can be seen in the case of a law enforcement officer from Virginia Beach. As reported by 10 On Your Side WAVY.com, an initial blood alcohol content test that returned a 0.25 percent result was later not allowed to be used in court. In the end, the woman was found guilty of a driving under the influence charge with a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.15 percent. The lower BAC level is an important distinction as penalties may be more severe with higher BAC levels.
The officer has been convicted of a first drunk driving offense and is said to be ordered to spend 15 days in jail and pay a fine of $500. She is still employed with the Virginia Beach police department although it is not known in what capacity she may be working. It is not likely that she will be an officer on the street who is responsible for enforcing DUI laws, at least not at this time.
The case stemmed from her arrest after the officer was reportedly stopped after she was seen driving and unable to maintain her lane of travel.