If you hold a commercial driving license in Virginia, you know that there are several responsibilities associated with this special type of operating license. In some cases, you are actually held to a higher standard than is someone who holds a standard personal driving license. One example is when it comes to impaired driving offenses.
As explained by the State of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, most people can be convicted of driving under the influence offenses if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more. For people with commercial drivers’ licenses, however, that threshold is much lower at 0.04 percent. You can actually lose your right to drive commercially if you have a BAC of 0.04 percent or more.
In addition, your ability to drive a commercial vehicle may be at risk even if you only refuse to consent to a substance test. Taking tests for drugs or alcohol is part of what is required of truckers and other commercial drivers. The length of time that you may lose your right to drive can vary a lot and in some situations a suspension or revocation may even be permanent. A best-case scenario for some cases is a suspension that extends 60 days but that still can be long enough to cause hardship to a trucker.
If you would like to learn more about the laws governing your ability to retain your commercial driving privileges, please feel free to visit the substance testing and violations page of our Virginia drunk or drugged driving defense page.