Virginia DUI Penalties

Virginia Criminal Defense Law Firm Familiar With DUI Penalties

Virginia is extremely tough on drunk and drugged drivers, as evidenced by the commonwealth's DUI stiff penalties:

Virginia DUI Penalties

DUI penalties in Virginia are based on the number of offenses committed, the time-frame during which they were committed, and the blood or breath alcohol concentration present at the time of the arrest. First and Second offenses are Class I Misdemeanors which carry fines up to $2500, a jail sentence up to 12 months, either or both or any combination thereof. Third and subsequent offenses are Class 6 felonies. A third conviction within 10 years for driving on a license suspended due to a DUI-related offense is a Class 6 felony punishable by a mandatory term of one to five years in jail and/or a $2,500 fine. All DUI offenses are reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange by law enforcement at the time of the arrest, and regardless of age, if someone in Virginia is stopped on a DUI suspended or restricted license, they may be charged with DUI if their BAC is 0.02 percent or higher. If you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia and face some of the harsh penalties described above, call Robert F. Rider, a Roanoke criminal defense attorney with many years of experience in defending DUI charges. Contact our firm online or call 540-685-0075 to set up a free initial consultation today.

  • First offense – mandatory minimum $250 fine and driver's license revocation for one year
  • Second offense – mandatory minimum $500 fine, driver's license revocation for three years, and potential jail time of up to one year
  • Second offense within ten years of prior offense –additional mandatory minimum 10-day jail term
  • Second offense within five years of prior offense – additional mandatory minimum 20-day jail term
  • Three DUI convictions within a 10-year period – mandatory indefinite driver's license revocation
  • Third offense – mandatory minimum $1,000 fine, mandatory indefinite driver's license revocation, and prosecution as a Class 6 felony. If within five years, additional mandatory minimum six-month jail term. If within 10 years, additional mandatory minimum 90-day jail term and permanent forfeiture of vehicle (if sole owner).
  • Fourth or subsequent offense – mandatory minimum one-year jail term
  • BAC 0.15 percent -0.20 percent – mandatory minimum five days in jail in addition to all other penalties. Second offense within 10 years carries a mandatory minimum 10 days in jail in addition to all other penalties.
  • BAC 0.20 percent or higher – first offense carries a mandatory minimum 10 days in jail in addition to all other penalties; second offense within 10 years carries a mandatory minimum 20-day jail term in addition to all other penalties.

Robert Rider of Roanoke, Virginia is a member of the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys. The Association confirmed that he has the skills, knowledge, training, tools, resources, and strategies that are needed to successfully resolve and win DUI cases. Read more about this here.