Roanoke Criminal Defense Attorney Understands the Severity of Burglary Charges

Virginia's burglary laws are complex and very confusing. If you have been charged with burglary and do not understand what you're up against, an experienced criminal defense attorney like Robert F. Rider of Roanoke will review your case and provide you with the strongest defense possible.

Virginia Burglary Laws

Burglary is defined as breaking and entering into someone's home in the nighttime with the intent to commit a felony or larceny within. Whether or not you actually commit the felony or larceny makes no difference – you can still be charged.

  • A basic burglary charge is punishable by five to 20 years in prison, and if you were armed during the offense, you will be charged with a Class 2 felony that carries 20 years to life in prison.
  • Burglary with intent to Commit Murder, Rape, Robbery, or Arson is typically a Class 3 felony, carrying five to 20 years in prison, or 20 years to life if armed. If you commit a burglary at night, even if the door unlocked or broke into a house in the daytime with the intention of committing rape, murder, robbery, or arson, you can be charged with this offense.
  • Burglary with Intent to Commit Larceny, Assault, and Battery or Other Felony is also known as statutory burglary. If you commit burglary at night without breaking in or during the daytime by breaking and entering with the intent to commit larceny, assault, and battery, you could be charged with statutory burglary, punishable by one -20 years in prison, or 20 years to life if armed.

Have you been charged with burglary in Virginia? Roanoke criminal defense Attorney Robert F. Rider has more than 30 years of criminal defense experience defending burglary charges, and he will work with you to determine the best course of action. Contact our firm online or call 540-685-0075 to schedule a free case evaluation today.